Laura No Esta – Nek

“Laura No Esta” is one of my favorite songs in Spanish, and one of the first I ever found. The lyrics are a bit simpler, and the singer sings slower and really clear. So this was the perfect song to practice listening and speaking Spanish earlier in my course of learning Spanish. I recommend it highly to anyone practicing Spanish.

Nek is actually an Italian singer, who sings in Spanish as well. This song was released in 1998 and was a big hit, with 4 million video views today. There is an Italian, Spanish, French, and English version of the song, it was such a hit.

The translated lyrics. I used to translate this song’s lyrics before for Spanish practice. ^_^ But of course, there’s always words I forget the meaning of, especially if they’re not commonly used.

Laura no está  –  Laura is not here.
Laura se fue  –  Laura went.
Laura se escapa de mi vida  –  Laura escaped from my life.
y tú que si estás,   –  And you that are here,
preguntas porqué   –  you ask me why
la amo a pesar de las heridas  –  I love her despite the wounds
lo ocupa todo su recuerdo  –  Her memory occupies everything
no consigo olvidar  –  I don’t mention to forget
el peso de su cuerpo  –  the weight of her body
Laura no está  – Laura is not here
eso lo sé  –  That I know
y no la encontraré  –  And I won’t find her
en tu piel   –  in your skin.

es enfermizo,  –  It is sick,
sabes que no quisiera   –  You no that I don’t want
besarte a ti pensando en ella  –  To kiss you thinking of her
esta noche inventaré una tregua  –  This night I will invent [a respite]
ya no quiero pensar más – I don’t want to think more
contigo olvidaré su ausencia  –  With you I will forget her absence

y si te como a besos,  –  {And if I kiss you}
tal vez la noche sea más corta,  –  Perhaps the night will be shorter
no lo sé yo solo no me basto,   –  I don’t know, I’m just not enough
quédate y lléname su espacio,  –  Stay and fill her space
quédate, quédate  –  Stay, stay

Laura se fue, no dijo adiós  –  Laura went, she did not say goodbye
dejando rota mi pasión,  –  She left my passion broken
Laura quizá ya me olvidó  –  Laura [may have already] forgotten me
y otro rozó su corazón  –  And somebody else broke her heart
y yo sólo sé decir su nombre  –  And I only know to say her name
no recuerdo ni siquiera el mío  –  I don’t even remember mine
quién me abrigará este frío  –  Who will [shelter] me in this cold

y si te como a besos,  –  {And if I kiss you}
tal vez la noche sea más corta,  –  Perhaps the night will be shorter
no lo sé yo solo no me basto,   –  I don’t know, I’m just not enough
quédate y lléname su espacio,  –  Stay and fill her space
quédate, quédate  –  Stay, stay

puede ser difícil para ti  –  It can be difficult for you
pero no puedo olvidarla   –  But I can’t forget her
creo que es lógico,   –  I believe it is logical
por más que yo intente escaparme  –  The more I try to escape
ella está  –  She is here
unas horas jugaré a quererte  –  A couple hours I will play to love you
pero cuando vuelva a amanecer  –  But when the sun returns to rise
me perderás para siempre  –  You will lose me forever

y si te como a besos sabrás – And if I kiss you, you’ll know
lo mucho que me duele  –  How much it hurts me
este dolor   –  this pain
no encontraré en tu abrazo el sabor  –  I will not find in your embrace, the taste
de los sueños que Laura me robó  –  of the dreams that Laura stole from me
si me enredo en tu cuerpo   – If I [tangle] myself in your body
sabrás  –  You will know
que sólo Laura es dueña  –  That only Laura is [the owner]
de mi amor no encontraré en tu abrazo  –  of my love, I wil not find in your embrace
el sabor de los besos que Laura  –  the taste of the kisses that Laura
me robó  –  Laura robbed me
me robó. – Laura robbed me

New words learned:

  • Tregua – Respite ( a short period of rest or relief from something difficult or unpleasant)
  • Abrigar – To shelter (like abrigo, “coat” 😀 )
  • Enredar – To tangle
  • Dueña – Owner, like landlady
Leave a Reply

